Stereo & Security Sound systems, alarms, and radar detectors.

Help: Aftermarket head unit install.

Old 12-15-2008, 10:35 PM

Car Info: 2015 DGM WRX STI Limited
Help: Aftermarket head unit install.

Ok first off, im a complete car audio noob. I'm planning on getting a new deck soon and have a forester din pocket on the way. I've decided to install this myself to avoid best buy's installment fee. I've been searching around the forum and just want to confirm my understanding going about this.

Will I only need the Subaru wiring harness and do a straight plug-and-play? And do I need this antenna-to-radio adapter(or the radio-to-antenna)? Any extra advice is appreciated.
Old 12-17-2008, 08:36 AM

Car Info: 02 MBP wagon
- Once you get the Subaru wiring harness, it will be a straight plug and play. 6 screws (if i remember correctly) will get your stock unit out and hold your new one in place.

- Dont pry too hard on the plastic trim, it will scratch or break if you pry too hard.

- remember to plug your antenna wire into your new head unit

- head unit goes on top, din pocket goes on the bottom (i've tried puting the headunit on the bottom, but the dash trim got in the way of the fold down faceplate..)

One suggestion:

If you plan on running an amp and sub in the future take the extra time (5minutes) to wire your remote wire, and your rca wires to the back of the head unit while you have the unit out. run the cables nicely out the bottom of the dash and under the door sills and tape them off until you are ready to install your amp. Then you wont have to take your head unit out again when you decide to add on to your system.

good luck
Old 12-17-2008, 11:45 AM

Car Info: 05 cgm imp
i'd suggest you stop by a local circuit city store to see if they haveyour harness, because they're closing the stores, radio acc. are 80% off last time i checked.
you'll need subaru wiring harness, metra brand model: 808901 or 708901.