Engine/Power - EJ20T (pre-2006 WRX and JDM) There is replacement for displacement, it is forced induction - OEM 2.0 liter turbo engines in the USDM WRX. 90-94 Legacy Turbo EJ22 turbo engines can also be discussed here.

After The Silencer Removal

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2003, 01:13 PM

Car Info: Impreza WRX 2003
Question After The Silencer Removal

Ok, I read up all the stuff about the silencer removal and did the appropriate steps. I also took out the rubber gasket that added about an inch in room. My question is that is there anything else you can do to make the sound louder? I am not that good with cars and basically I have no money so any modification I am making (like the silencer) is basically a poor man's modification. If there’s anything else I can do it make it spool up louder, I would love to know.

P.S. I have just joined this forum and love it. Because of you guys I am much more knowledgeable about my car and have you guys to thank.
Old 03-24-2003, 11:53 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: 2016 Acura RDX ... meh. Um, nice subwoofer?
If you're "not that good with cars", I'd just be careful with what you to with a car that has a turbo and a finnicky computer. There's many safeguards, but you probably want to avoid the crap you'll find in your pants as you, well uh, scare the crap out of yourself when you throw a CEL (check engine light).

Now, taking out the resonator won't do that. At least, I have never heard of such a case and it certainly didn't happen to me.

The free stuff can bite you in the butt just as much as the expensive stuff, perhaps even more. I say this because the free stuff is often a way to falsely do the expensive stuff. You probably will stumble soon on the "3/16th's Mod". You can actually hurt your car this way, even with all safeguards.