Insurance question...

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2005, 12:00 PM
Admin v2.0

Car Info: 02 Black Legacy GT
Insurance question...

Here is the scenario...

My car: Full insurance coverage under my name.

My friend borrows it for a date and rearends another car...

When exchanging insurance info with the other driver, my friend gives him HIS licence info and my insurance, because of course he does not carry his insurance car with him.

Accident is HIS fault.

Whos insurance will cover the car. Mine, because the car is under my name, or his, because he is the driver...

TIA!
Old 05-25-2005, 12:18 PM
the artist formerly known as mcdrama

Car Info: WRBP 2015 WRX Premium/CVT
I am no expert, but an accident that he caused should go on his record. If his insurance will not cover him driving others vehicles, see if yours will cover him, otherwise I think he might end up owing you some money. :x
Old 05-25-2005, 12:24 PM
Former Sponsor

Car Info: MY04 STi some call it a race car
Originally Posted by mcdrama
I am no expert, but an accident that he caused should go on his record. If his insurance will not cover him driving others vehicles, see if yours will cover him, otherwise I think he might end up owing you some money. :x
Agreed, but it really comes down to, if your insurance cover's other's driving your car....if not you pay = he owe's you big time.

Accidents stay on insurance record for 5 years. Not only that remember there are DMW points and Insurance points, which are seperate....even though my driving DMV record is clean, I have a 2 insurance points, 1 for a ticket and 1 for filing a claim.....IT'S BS. They make sure they get there money one way or another.

-Noah
Old 05-25-2005, 12:56 PM
Admin v2.0

Car Info: 02 Black Legacy GT
I see...

So he gets the DMV point.

His insurance covers the damage *IF* his policy covers OTHER CARS.

Or my insurance covers the damage *IF* my policy covers OTHER DRIVERS.