Engine/Power - EJ20T (pre-2006 WRX and JDM) There is replacement for displacement, it is forced induction - OEM 2.0 liter turbo engines in the USDM WRX. 90-94 Legacy Turbo EJ22 turbo engines can also be discussed here.

*Do I HAVE to get a tune if I put on a dp???*

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2011, 04:02 PM

Car Info: '05 PSM WRX Wagon
Red face *Do I HAVE to get a tune if I put on a dp???*

I have an '02 WRX and I was wondering if I could get away with putting on my Helix catless down pipe on, with my 3' cbe, without getting a tune? I was told by a shop that I should get a tune with just the cbe on but a friend of mine just told me that you can get away with a dp and cbe without getting a tune on '02s and '03s. I want to get my car tuned but I don't have $300+ laying around to get one. Am I going to be okay with putting the dp on without getting a tune??? I'm new to the Suby world, so any input, very descriptive input, will be much appreciated. I want to learn about these cars and how they work. But most importantly I want to do it right. Thank you in advance for you insight!
Old 07-28-2011, 08:25 PM

Car Info: 94 Integra beater: one Slow 3 Series RIP EvoX
you would be okay to drive around for a bit without a tune, but you wont get the most benefit of the increase airflow.
It will also probably run rich and have worst MPG.
IMHO, wait for the tune then put all parts on, that way the car with have a proper a/f ratio and you dont waste any gas while waiting for the tune
Old 07-28-2011, 08:54 PM

Originally Posted by PikkaGTR
you would be okay to drive around for a bit without a tune, but you wont get the most benefit of the increase airflow.
It will also probably run rich and have worst MPG.
IMHO, wait for the tune then put all parts on, that way the car with have a proper a/f ratio and you dont waste any gas while waiting for the tune