Drivetrain Encompasses driveline components such as the torque converter, clutch, transmission, shifter, front and center differentials, driveshaft, rear differential, and axles.

Clutch slippage question

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2004, 11:55 AM

Clutch slippage question

Gentelmen,

I have an intermittant problem with my clutch slipping. I have a Clutchmaster Stage 2 clutch installed about 1 year ago. The only other modifacations to my car is an air filter and Greddy ProfecB boost controller set for .8 bar for winter.

Problem:

When giving the car WOT, or close to WOT, from low rpm ( 2000-2500 ) in 3rd, occationally 4th, the clutch will slip around 3300ish--- and starts to grab around 4500. However, if I am driving a little more spirited from 1 thru 4th, it does not slip at all. I can tell it's not "really" slipping, as I have felt it from the OEM clutch that let go around 50K miles. Any ideas? Is there an ajustment that can be made, or something the people installed it may have looked over? Possibly not resurfacing the fly wheel or something?

Any input would be grateful. I have attempted to contact the facility who did the work, but in dealings with MY car, I can't get anyone on the phone.

Chris
Old 12-15-2004, 01:41 PM

Ttt
Old 12-28-2004, 03:16 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: '94 WRX, '97 Forester S/Tb, '95 WRX-RA