minor accident/ insurance question

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2006, 01:59 PM

minor accident/ insurance question

i dozed off and rear ended a car in traffic. the damage appears to be cosmetic: paint and scratches. i asked the lady to not let insurance involved, and i'll settle the repair fees on the side. she agreed. however, she later called and noticed me that she has filed a record with her insurance, but are not going to make a claim on mine for repairs.
will that bump my premium up? and do i have any rights to suggest how she can do her repair? she has a BWM, the damage can be repaired by a new paint job, but i am prepared to buy her a new bumper worst case...
Old 08-30-2006, 02:02 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: 2012 Mazda 3 Hatch
if she just filed a record with HER insurance, you're fine because your insurance doesn't know about it.... i believe your premiums only go up when you file a claim with your insurance.

But, i'm no expert and insurance always finds a way to ding you.
Old 08-30-2006, 02:33 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: black pearl sti
if she has a relatively new bmw i'd want my insurance to swallow that.
Old 08-30-2006, 05:41 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: 2018 Golf R Variant
Originally Posted by ftnssn
A bumper cover and a respray will be WAY less than what a greater-than 51% at-fault accident will do to your premiums for the next 3 or so years.
Old 08-30-2006, 05:43 PM
VIP Member

Possibly, but if that bumper needs to be replaced...plus it's a BMW and their paint is significantly more expensive than say a subaru.
Old 08-30-2006, 06:26 PM

it is a mid 90s 325.
Old 08-30-2006, 07:06 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: 2018 Golf R Variant
Possibly, but if that bumper needs to be replaced...plus it's a BMW and their paint is significantly more expensive than say a subaru.
The paint is more expensive? Uhhh no.
Old 08-30-2006, 08:25 PM
VIP Member