Vehicle Shipping Hawaii to Mainland - Tips?

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2013, 02:24 AM

Car Info: GR.SEDAN
Vehicle Shipping Hawaii to Mainland - Tips?

Sorry for the long post, just trying to cover my bases - For anyone who's shipped Mainland>HI or HI>Mainland - any tips you can impart for shipping?

I'm shipping my STI to CA soon and I'm concerned about it's safety as it's my first time shipping a car. I know the 1/4 tank of fuel rule, plus no personal effects allowed in the car as I'm told (essentially if it's not bolted down, don't leave it in the car). I honestly have very little faith in shipping based on the stories I've heard, I hope it's not as bad as I hear about...

Also concerned with the reverse lockout lever. A valet once had no idea how to back my car up, I have little faith in shippers just smashing it into gear...

Also thought of using RoadWraps or something similar for paint protection. Perhaps blue tape at all corners at the least, maybe some on the wheels?

For the interior, I was thinking to hit up walmart's scrap cloth section to get some cheap cloth to wrap the rear seats, maybe some tasteless seatcovers, maybe wrap/cover the dash?

As for motor, I ordered a cobb for the valet map but I don't think it's going to make it in time (backorder w/cobb); if I find a way to borrow a tactrix and Open Source it temporarily and undo it with the cobb later? I read an older thread in our forum about bypassing the boost controller - I feel like I should consider something like this...

Any tips on who to use or avoid? I'd like to go with enclosed containers (i smelled a car that came in from CA on an open container and it smelled like they pulled it from the bottom of a lake..)

I've heard of Matson, Pasha and DAS for shipping, quotes are all around the same price as I hear, uShip and Movecars.com have a few suggestions as well it seems. Anyone know if PODS allows cars in their large containers?