So my work just submitted my "resignation".. Is this shady as hell or what?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2009, 05:26 PM

Car Info: 03 WRX --> 07 STI --> 10 Cayman S
So my work just submitted my "resignation".. Is this shady as hell or what?

So I'm an intern right now working at this software company (who shall remain nameless, but it is a smaller company). I've been working here for the last 8 months working in the Marketing team. So since I started, I went through a re-org process, got a new boss who me and him didn't get along very well.

Fast forward to July and I get a call from a big-name software/computer company (who shall also remain nameless) for another marketing internship. I begin the interview process and give my list of references. One of whom is my old boss who originally hired me and me and him got along really well, so I thought it'd be good to put him as a reference. So a few weeks go by, and in between then, I go through the interview process and they call my reference. And basically I did well in the interview process and all my references check out fine. So my old boss comes up to me and tells me he got a call and we just chatted for a little bit on why I wanted to leave and whatever. It was a VERY friendly conversation and I had the assumed confidence that he wouldn't go around telling a bunch of people.

Then back-pedaling to last Friday, I get an offer letter from the company and decide to wait till Tuesday (I usually don't work Mondays) to submit my official resignation from my current company.

So then today, I just randomly check my email and low and behold. My old boss (who I used as a reference) sends out an email to EVERYONE in the office that I am leaving the company and that my last day is on Friday. I'm incredibly shocked by this because I did not submit anything formal and in-fact just submitted my official acceptance of the job just today!