Go Back  i-Club > Regional Forums > Bay Area
The Official: All Things Phone Thread >

The Official: All Things Phone Thread

Notices

The Official: All Things Phone Thread

Old 06-15-2013, 11:22 AM
  #886  
Churro Aficionado
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
stupidchicken03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IG - @thomas.teammoist
Posts: 54,286
Car Info: IG - @TEAMMOISTOFFICIAL
Originally Posted by rau View Post
Not mine. Found on Google+. Still less than Thomas
Damn right less than me
stupidchicken03 is offline  
Old 06-24-2013, 08:07 PM
  #887  
Churro Aficionado
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
stupidchicken03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IG - @thomas.teammoist
Posts: 54,286
Car Info: IG - @TEAMMOISTOFFICIAL
stupidchicken03 is offline  
Old 06-25-2013, 02:15 PM
  #888  
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orinda/Palo Alto/Los Altos
Posts: 1,912
Car Info: Subaru STi Sedan '13
Originally Posted by stupidchicken03 View Post
Seems legit.. Good way to recycle
oshrizak is offline  
Old 06-25-2013, 02:33 PM
  #889  
VIP Member
 
LifePlaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Teh Phantom Zone
Posts: 12,422
Car Info: 2013 Toyota Prius Plug In 2011 Toyota Prius
Originally Posted by stupidchicken03 View Post
I was thinking about doing this but:

#1 Groove IP is a 50/50 shot when it comes to working from my experience
#2 wife uses the land line a lot when handling personal business and would rage if the call dropped.
#3 phone gets uber hot after 5 minutes of being on the phone

These are the only reasons why I havent done this.

I'd rather change my old android phone into a home surveillance. I have about 3 android devices, any recommendations?
LifePlaza is offline  
Old 06-27-2013, 12:54 PM
  #890  
Churro Aficionado
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
stupidchicken03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IG - @thomas.teammoist
Posts: 54,286
Car Info: IG - @TEAMMOISTOFFICIAL
Originally Posted by LifePlaza View Post
I was thinking about doing this but:

#1 Groove IP is a 50/50 shot when it comes to working from my experience
#2 wife uses the land line a lot when handling personal business and would rage if the call dropped.
#3 phone gets uber hot after 5 minutes of being on the phone

These are the only reasons why I havent done this.

I'd rather change my old android phone into a home surveillance. I have about 3 android devices, any recommendations?
Not off the top of my head for surveillance. If i stumble across anything ill be sure to link it.

We dont even have a home phone, so thats why im thinking about doing it. We dont get great reception in the house (idk wtf is in our roof lol) so voip should help with quality.

A person in that thread also mentioned another app instread of groove IP to use as well.
stupidchicken03 is offline  
Old 06-30-2013, 08:09 PM
  #891  
Churro Aficionado
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
stupidchicken03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IG - @thomas.teammoist
Posts: 54,286
Car Info: IG - @TEAMMOISTOFFICIAL
I ended up setting up the home phone. Was pretty easy. Call quality is a lot better than what im getting on my cell phone.

Even tho the old cell im using is only running 2.3, it does the job lol
stupidchicken03 is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 11:46 AM
  #892  
Moist IT Outsourcing Services
 
rupees88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indian Ocean
Posts: 5,332
Car Info: Mahindra Tractor
Originally Posted by stupidchicken03 View Post
I ended up setting up the home phone. Was pretty easy. Call quality is a lot better than what im getting on my cell phone.

Even tho the old cell im using is only running 2.3, it does the job lol
gonna have to set this up on my Charge once I move back to Davis.

In other news AOKP has released another milestone for the S3

Galaxy S3 AOKP
rupees88 is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 12:51 PM
  #893  
Churro Aficionado
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
stupidchicken03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IG - @thomas.teammoist
Posts: 54,286
Car Info: IG - @TEAMMOISTOFFICIAL
After a long day of shenanigans this weekend... my phone was dropped in the pool.

Was underwater for 3-5 seconds. Took it out, removed battery and let it sit in the sun for 2-3 hours. Works fine
stupidchicken03 is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 02:23 PM
  #894  
Moist IT Outsourcing Services
 
rupees88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indian Ocean
Posts: 5,332
Car Info: Mahindra Tractor
Originally Posted by stupidchicken03 View Post
After a long day of shenanigans this weekend... my phone was dropped in the pool.

Was underwater for 3-5 seconds. Took it out, removed battery and let it sit in the sun for 2-3 hours. Works fine
order a new battery off amazon
rupees88 is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 04:09 PM
  #895  
Churro Aficionado
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
stupidchicken03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IG - @thomas.teammoist
Posts: 54,286
Car Info: IG - @TEAMMOISTOFFICIAL
ya prolly will. Might try and extended one like the zerolemon
stupidchicken03 is offline  
Old 07-24-2013, 06:47 PM
  #896  
Registered User
iTrader: (27)
 
East Bay STI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Castro Valley or Puerto Vallarta
Posts: 2,273
Car Info: 1997 Honda Civic DX - Manual Everything Sans A/C!
Okay, total phone nub here. I want to unlock my phone so that I can use it in Mexico now that I finally got everything taken care of. Anyone want to guide me or help me do this? Willing to buy beer/food unless it is as easy as shown on youtube and I can do it myself. Thanks!

S3 via ATT in case that makes a difference
East Bay STI is offline  
Old 07-24-2013, 08:04 PM
  #897  
Churro Aficionado
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
stupidchicken03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IG - @thomas.teammoist
Posts: 54,286
Car Info: IG - @TEAMMOISTOFFICIAL
I just searched real quick and there are a handful of youtube vids that are showing "gs3 att carrier unlock"

Never done it myself, and im not on att, but you might give those a shot.
stupidchicken03 is offline  
Old 07-24-2013, 08:13 PM
  #898  
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
w0ng3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,856
Car Info: 2011 WRX Sedan
Originally Posted by East Bay STI View Post
Okay, total phone nub here. I want to unlock my phone so that I can use it in Mexico now that I finally got everything taken care of. Anyone want to guide me or help me do this? Willing to buy beer/food unless it is as easy as shown on youtube and I can do it myself. Thanks!

S3 via ATT in case that makes a difference
Is your contract up? I would assume so, in most cases, ATT will unlock it for you if you are travelling. Just call their CS and let them know whats up. If they say no, just call again and hope for a different rep.
w0ng3r is offline  
Old 07-24-2013, 08:17 PM
  #899  
Registered User
 
cjbigcog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bay Area Ca.
Posts: 243
Car Info: 2011 WRX
cjbigcog is offline  
Old 07-24-2013, 08:20 PM
  #900  
Churro Aficionado
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
stupidchicken03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IG - @thomas.teammoist
Posts: 54,286
Car Info: IG - @TEAMMOISTOFFICIAL
Kinda cool.

Too bad you have to sign a contract

Id go just get a free phone
stupidchicken03 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: The Official: All Things Phone Thread


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.