Suspension, Handling, and Brakes Talk about Struts/springs, coilovers, anti-swaybars, strut bars, steering, Pads, fluid, lines, rotors, calipers, boosters, and anything that is brake and suspension related.

!HELP! Tanabe coilover issues

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2006, 11:15 PM

Car Info: 02 wrx
Exclamation !HELP! Tanabe coilover issues

I bought a 2002 subaru impreza wrx and it has either the Sustec Pro S-S or the Sustec Pro S-S Type II. I got my car from the dealership and had no clue these were even on my car till I was told by a friend. I am new to car mods and had a few questions. I really hope you can answer for me or guide me to someone who can.

1) Is there any quick way I can find out whitch model they are?
2) They are very firm and they make a bumping noise, recentaly they have started making a clanking noise kinda sounds like metal when goingover bumps large and small. This really worries me are there any parts that should be looked at for this problem? None of the local mechanics seem to know.
3) All the mechanics say they need a special tool to adjust the coilovers, is there any place I can buy this tool?
4) I would realy like to adjust these coilovers to make my car ride as smooth as possable but I have no instructions, Is there any sort of manuel or tips you can give me?
5) How can I tell if these coilovers are blown?

Thanks for any help you can give me, I feel these are somewhat unsafe in their current state and I want to make them shine and function how they were designed to.

Adrian
Old 01-15-2006, 11:47 PM
Admin v2.0

Car Info: 02 Black Legacy GT
I may be able to help you out here.