Track Noob

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2013, 10:33 AM

Car Info: 06 STi
Track Noob

Hi all,

I got the car and I got the urge to do a track day. It's on my bucketlist.

Car: 2006 STi (stage 2 - Catback, downpipe, intake, tune)

Questions:
What events am I eligible for? (In Norcal)
What safety equipment do I need? (helmets, harnesses, etc.)
Where do you buy a helmet that is certified?

Share: Your experience as a noob and what your should have, would have, could haves were....?

Thanks for any feedback.

Last edited by Wrx2fast4ufool; 03-11-2013 at 11:14 AM.
Old 03-15-2013, 07:23 AM

I'm a driving coach for Hooked On Driving so it's been a long time since I've been a newbie at the track, but I can answer your questions and comment on what I see out there.

First, you need a helmet that is current. Most organizations require 2005 or newer. Many, including HOD, don't allow motorcycle helmets as they don't have fireproof materials on the inside. You don't need anything fancy, open face is fine. Expect to pay about $300 or more. You can usually rent one until you're ready to buy. End-of-the-season sales are usually a good deal. Especially at shops at the track.

Next, a harness is not required if you're only doing a track day. Remember that you aren't racing and you are expected to drive at a reasonable pace that doesn't endanger life or property. I have a harness in my '04 STi and it really makes the whole experience a lot more enjoyable. I'm not worried about crashing but it's no fun hanging on to the steering wheel while my OEM belts are constantly loosening and tightening. I tried that belt lock thingy and it just didn't work for me.