General Tech / How To's / Installations Technical discussions about the USDM 2008+ WRX and WRX STi.

09 WRX - will not stay idle

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2012, 06:04 PM

Car Info: 2009 WRX
09 WRX - will not stay idle

Hi guys. I'm new to the forum and was hoping someone can help me with a recent problem with my 2009 WRX. Engine Mods are: Perrin FMIC, Invidia Catless Downpipe, Invidia Cat Back exhaust and Access Port running Stage 3 map from Perrin. I have not had the time to get it Pro-Tuned but that is something that will be down the line. I have other mods also with Suspension etc but my issue is with the engine. So, i have had no problems with this car since I bought it back in 2009. The car was running good and I dont push the car and always drive it casual as I am a light driver. So I recently went to Subiefest 2012 in Fairplex Pamona and drove back home to San Jose, CA. Car ran great with no issues going to LA and coming back to San Jose. Then after maybe 2hrs of sleep, I went to go run some errands and hit the freeway then I hear a sudden jerk then the car started bogging and eventually died down. I was able to coast my way to the side of the road. So, the car starts and idles just fine but after a few seconds it starts to have a bogged sound like its not getting a constant steady amount of fuel. It keeps doing this when i start it then it boggs down and eventually dies out even when i'm on the gas. I can smell the fuel so I know that fuel is getting in, however seems like something is not igniting which is causing the excess amount of fuel smell, then black smoke burning off from the exhaust. It will hold idle for a few seconds, then boggs then dies. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what may be the problem? I have it back home now and was able to take out the spark plugs and coil packs. I have to wait until tomorow to check on the compression as I have killed the battery trying to fix it on the side of the road. Has anyone ever had this symptom t