Engine/Power - EJ20T (pre-2006 WRX and JDM) There is replacement for displacement, it is forced induction - OEM 2.0 liter turbo engines in the USDM WRX. 90-94 Legacy Turbo EJ22 turbo engines can also be discussed here.

BOV Recirc? How do I know?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2010, 12:27 PM

Car Info: WRB WRX '04
BOV Problems? Put stock BPV on?

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to Subarus and the many mods you can put on them. I got an '04 WRX and it had a Turbo XS BOV when I bought it. Sometimes when it is warmed up, the idle drops when I put it in neutral at stop signs/stop lights almost to the point where the engine sounds like the rpms are so low that it will stall. I've done some searching around here and found that the BOV could be a part of the problem if not the whole problem. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how I know if my BOV is at least recirculating some air to the engine when it pops. It does have a small tube going from the end of it back to the middle of the inlet manifold below the throttle body. I've also noticed that my BOV is non-adjustable but it does have a rather stiff spring to hold the mechanism forward and not release pressure so I don't see how it could be leaking pressure to cause the idle to drop. If anyone has thoughts on this please pass them on to me or if you think I should get a stock BPV I will do that because I don't need the PPSSSHHHH sound really. I'd rather have my engine running rock solid. Also, if I do get a stock BPV will it pop onto the FMIC pipe where the BOV is right now just before the throttle body? Or does it mount somewhere else and I'll need to plug the spot where the BOV is? I don't know how it mounts because I haven't had one haha. I appreciate any help I get and I guess I'll talk to ya later.

- ImageX