Engine/Power - EJ20T (pre-2006 WRX and JDM) There is replacement for displacement, it is forced induction - OEM 2.0 liter turbo engines in the USDM WRX. 90-94 Legacy Turbo EJ22 turbo engines can also be discussed here.

2 questions on boost

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2003, 01:21 PM

Car Info: 2004 WRX
Question 2 questions on boost

Just purchased a new 2004 WRX. great car, however i am new to turbocharging. my other vehicle is a 2001 Lightning, and i have made some mods to keep full boost between shifts with the supercharger. with a TURBO, however, i loose alot of boost between shifts, even when i flat shift it.

1) what do i do to keep boost up between shifts ? is there a modification (as i said, i modded my boost bypass on my lightning) or shift technique ?

2) if i add a manual boost controller, and limit boost to an additional pound or two to be safe, do i need to add more fuel via PCM reflash, or other methods, or will computer compensate

thanks in advance - i am very impressed with the new WRX - love everything about it !

Dave
Old 10-23-2003, 01:24 PM

you can get a MBC but dont' go over 15 , 16psi at the MAX
you wont need a reflash, just reset your ecu, make sure you do it in small increments rather tahn setting boost at 15 your first go
Old 10-23-2003, 01:52 PM

Car Info: 2004 WRX
Daredevil:
thank you very much for quick response. i appreciate the advice on creeping up on max boost. settled on TurboXS manual single stage (79 bucks at summit). i also appears that the WRX has an electronic boost limiter that must be defeated. i found instructions for that on turboxs web site.. i assume also that 'reset of ECU' is done by disconnecting negative terminal of battery, turn lights on to drain residual , etc. is that correct ?

thanks again !
Dave
Old 10-23-2003, 08:16 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: want a WRX
yeah disconnect the neg terminal, depress the brake pedal for 5 seconds...thats what vishnu recommended
Old 10-23-2003, 10:03 PM