to pop or not to pop...

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2005, 08:12 PM

Car Info: 2005 WRX
to pop or not to pop...

i was just curious what suby owner's prefer to do when racing on the track.
i'm new at the whole ''launching-with-three pedals" (if you couldn't tell, i had an auto before) and have heard mixed opinions

i tried popping the clutch at 5000 and that seemed to work real well. A little chirp from the tires, and off she goes....wonderful feeling. and there's nothing like that clutch smell (joke). i was just curious if this is bad, or maybe is there another launch technique that you prefer?
Old 06-22-2005, 08:26 PM

Car Info: 05 SLK 350
Are you in a WRX or an STi? Either way, don't do that too much, or you'll be buying transmissions at an unpleasant rate. Read the Impreza powertrain threads for more info.
Old 06-22-2005, 10:18 PM

its much better to slip the clutch then drop it. clutch is alot cheaper than a transmission. try slipping it around 4.5k. wrx's are not meant to be drag cars, so dont do it too much!
Old 06-22-2005, 11:24 PM

Car Info: 2002 WRB WRX
yea whatever you do...dont just drop the cloutch its not good for the car. i like to bring it up to around 4 or 4.5 rpms and just slowly ride the clutch. yea youll get the burnt clutch smell, but its better for the car than just popping the clutch out and i think you get a faster start. and wrx's have fragile transmissions so dont be banging gears either or your gonna need a new tranny
Old 06-23-2005, 06:14 AM

thanks for the tips. last night i popped the clutch twice, for the first time. and now, that will have been the last time! no new trannies for me

any tips on slipping?

i've heard hit the clutch right before it engages, and rev up to 4.5. then as you're slipping it out, floor it. and with this....no brake? how fast should i floor?
keep in mind, i 'm new (hah)
Old 06-29-2005, 12:56 PM

Car Info: 2006 CGM WRX