can Some one Teach ME

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2006, 02:07 PM

Car Info: 03' Bug Eye 82' Rx7
Question can Some one Teach ME

Well iv'e been reading some posts and usully I can understand the concept of what they are talking about... but I have yet to figure out what "throwing a code" is or "detanation." Now when I read detanation, I think blown motor.

Oh... I am new to Subaru's... just got one like 3 weeks ago... 03' WRX... I'm still use to Honda's...

how do you launch the car? clutch pop? what rpm? so many questions...

Thanks
Old 07-07-2006, 02:28 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: Ver IV STi Wagon
Throwing a code = when your check engine light comes on. You can get a dealer or certain auto stores to check what code is being triggered.

Detonation = Can lead to a blown motor....but generally is refering to an unwanted explosion of the air/fuel mixture in the combustion chamber caused by excess heat and compression, advanced timing, or an overly lean mixture. Detonation, or "knock", greatly increases the mechanical and thermal stresses on the engine. Also referred to as "ping".

Launching the car....is basically a no-no. The transmission, being linked to an all wheel drive system, does not appreciate the sudden impact of the acceleration and can (will) eventually cost you first gear....

IF you must....the usual recommendation is (someone correct me if wrong) rev to 4000, then slip the clutch out while givig more gas to get up towards 5000rpms. The 2002-2003 have notoriously weak transmissions and do not last long when under extreme abuse (launching)

Last edited by RedStage; 07-07-2006 at 02:31 PM.
Old 07-07-2006, 06:52 PM

Car Info: 1990 thing
Originally Posted by RedStage
Throwing a code = when your check engine light comes on. You can get a dealer or certain auto stores to check what code is being triggered.