Network Engineer position at Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2005, 10:06 AM
VIP Member

Car Info: 2016 Acura RDX ... meh. Um, nice subwoofer?
Network Engineer position at Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

In the NERSC (National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center) division, where I work at LBNL, there is a position open for a network engineer. At times I work with the network folks and they are top notch network gurus. If you think "I have some network experience" or "Sure, I run the 100 person the network at my dot.com and its DSL uplink" is sufficient experience, this position is probably out of your league. Working at the Lab is an awesome opportunity and everyone here (with the exception of myself) is so smart it makes you ill. The benefits are incredible, the pay is commensurate to industry and its a very professional yet relaxed atmosphere. Job security is far better than working for some micromanaging dot.com overlord. I hope to work here until I retire some 20+ years from now.

Here's the position description. If you are interested send me some E-MAIL.

POSITION SUMMARY

Work as a member of the NERSC Network team under the direction of the Network, Security, and Servers (NAST) Group Leader. Design, build, maintain, monitor, optimize, document and troubleshoot the NERSC local area network and the 10 gigabit ethernet connection to ESnet. Work with NERSC clients to troubleshoot and improve client applications end-to-end performance. Work will be performed at the Oakland Scientific Facility (OSF) off-site location in Oakland, California.
DUTIES