Gun Fanatics, Need some advice, Want to build my first AR

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2012, 12:02 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: 02 Subaru WRX w/ JDM Spec C
Gun Fanatics, Need some advice, Want to build my first AR

So I am starting to look into build my gun collection. Instead of starting a noob thread on Calguns I thought I would ask questions on a community board I am more well known on.

I am part of Calguns have read a ton about what to do and what not to do, but now I am trying to decide whether to build my first AR or buy the pre-built ones a lot of companies are offering now.

Now I look at building an AR as like fixing up a suby, many different parts of companies, lots of quality and lots of junk out there.

So in my research, I have come up with the following:

Either purchase a pre-built one CA legal from Colt LE6940CA

Colt California Compliant Rifles

Or build one, which I have never done before and admitting a little hesitant.

But I would want, Spike's Tactical Lower with Magpul stock, LMT Upper, Surefire M900v, and other various tidbits. Any other suggestions would be wonderful TIA.

So am I on the right track here or am I completely noob and lost at this? Thanks again

Other guns on my list:

Glock 19, just so I can put rounds through it, and I think it is a great beginner gun for when I bring others to the range with me.
Springfield XD .40 subcompact
Springfield 1911 or Kimber not sure which model
Ruger 10/22 with hogue stock, match/fluted barrel
Old 07-17-2012, 12:18 PM

Car Info: Forester XTi
Originally Posted by nic3krnnamja83
So I am starting to look into build my gun collection. Instead of starting a noob thread on Calguns I thought I would ask questions on a community board I am more well known on.

I am part of Calguns have read a ton about what to do and what not to do, but now I am trying to decide whether to build my first AR or buy the pre-built ones a lot of companies are offering now.