Any UC Berkeley folks?

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2005, 02:23 AM

Car Info: (2005 OBP STi - RIP), 2008 BMW M3
Any UC Berkeley folks?

I'm a transfer student that got accepted to UCB as a Mechanical Engineer. Just wanted to know if anyone on i-club was going to UCB since I see a lot of WRXs and a few STIs out there. Do you guys have any tips for a newbie on campus?
Old 08-27-2005, 02:36 AM

Car Info: 2008 lamborghini murcielago lp640 reventon
Where are you transfering in from? I'm also a mech engineering major but I have a few more lower div classes before I transfer.. either going to SJSU, Poly or Berkeley.
Old 08-27-2005, 02:37 AM

I just graduated December '03 as a ME from UCB.

You'll live in Etcheverry Hall, there's some vending machines on the bottom floor. That bottom floor is also has fairly quiet bathrooms in case you need to take care of business.

I would recommend that you take classes from Professor Fernandez-Pello. He's a very good instructor and pretty entertaining. He usually teaches thermo and a combustion class.

Profressor Dahran is also a fairly good one, I know he teaches a composite materials class, but can't remember if he taught any the core classes.

Professor Yeung is a pretty nice guy, good (helpful) to students, but his teaching style is only so so.

Do you're home work, go to office hours, attend TA sections. They'll get you through your classes.

Bechtel Hall has the Engineering Library on the ground floor. If you go up to the auditorium level, there are some couches there and you can catch some shuteye. There's also a little food cafe thing near there, but it's some what expensive.

I used to go to the Euclide Cafe (on Euclide Ave of course) for food. It's good, cheap, and the owner is a nice guy. La Vals and La Burrita are also pretty decent places. Top Dog is over-rated.
Old 08-27-2005, 10:31 AM

Car Info: '99 STM 2.5RS --> '06 Scion xA --> ???