Wheel & Tire Everything about tires and wheels.

Carbon Fiber Wheels???

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2004, 09:26 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: Subaru Impreza WRX 2002
Re: Carbon Fiber Wheels???

Originally posted by jsd1080
Anyone seen these???
http://www.01designsystem.com/

Trying to gather info before buying...
thanks!!!
Not that I am a materials expert of any kind, but carbon fiber seems poorly suited as a wheel material. It is brittle and its tensile strength lies along a specific "grain" created by the overlapping layers of carbon weave and expoxy. In this case it looks like the carbon fiber is just decorative -- there is still an aluminum wheel inside -- in which case you'd just have a normal wheel with a textured surface which would be quick to show damage.
Old 01-14-2004, 12:11 AM

Car Info: 1998 Subaru Legacy L 5-speed
yeah, thats all for show as it is just cf wrapped around aluminum, the cf is pointless its probobaly a fairly heavy aluminum wheel. You can do better.
Old 01-14-2004, 01:33 AM
VIP Member

Car Info: Corvette Z51
Useless rice part. Simple as that. They've been around for a while though, so I guess they're making sales to the Civic boys?
Old 01-14-2004, 06:58 AM

I just checked with the vendor and let me tell you, these things are just for looks. The benefiits of carbonfiber include heat dissipation, weight reduction and strength. IMO these rims provide none of the above and they are 19 pounds! Real racing carbon fiber rims (Common for motorcycles) are actually extremely light and strong. I think these rims are just like any other rim but with a layer of carbon fiber weave cleared to the surface. They look pretty nice but I cannot justify $1450 for them. I prefer to spend that money on a sweet set of Volk's.

-SZ
Old 01-14-2004, 02:23 PM

Car Info: GDA
Re: Re: Carbon Fiber Wheels???

Originally posted by meilers