Passing Laguna Seca's 92 db limit?

Old 04-15-2010, 04:58 PM

Car Info: 09 STI
Passing Laguna Seca's 92 db limit?

Hi

I have Protuned Stage 2 with just a downpipe (Cobb catted) and was wondering if I pass 92 dB sound limit at Laguna Seca. Car is louder comared to stock but not much. everything except DP is stock (CBE, intake, etc.).
Old 04-17-2010, 08:12 PM

I am an instructor with Hooked On Driving and we were just there a month or so ago. My '04 STi has a Cobb turbo back exhaust with a high flow cat, stage 2 access port pro-tuned by Mike Warfield at GST Motorsports. It's not too loud but sounds good and didn't get anyones attention at MRLS.

I'm sure you'll be OK. I was a little concerned when I was told about the noise limit but it wasn't a problem. As you come out of turn 5 and head up the hill there is a building on the right, that is where they measure the decibels. So if you're concerned, just ease into the throttle going up that hill until you hear of anyone else getting busted for noise, then try to compare your set up to them.

MRLS is an absolute blast, you'll have a lot of fun.

Good Luck!!
Old 04-17-2010, 08:32 PM

Car Info: 09 WRX, 99 FOZ
You wont have any trouble, as from past experience there I have heard cars much louder than our suby's with turbobacks. When I went last, PDX Tuning had their Suby their and had no problems with noise restrictions. Like jpdriver says you will have a blast and its fun beating the sports cars around the track. When are you going? I may sign up for one in May.
Old 04-19-2010, 02:04 PM

Originally Posted by T-REX133
You wont have any trouble, as from past experience there I have heard cars much louder than our suby's with turbobacks. When I went last, PDX Tuning had their Suby their and had no problems with noise restrictions. Like jpdriver says you will have a blast and its fun beating the sports cars around the track. When are you going? I may sign up for one in May.