H.o.d.

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2010, 09:26 PM

Car Info: 08 AW WRX STi
H.o.d.

Has anybody run with Hooked on Driving? Please share your experience whether you are a first-timer or expert.
Old 02-22-2010, 11:29 AM

Car Info: '06 STI
I've run with them a few times and they have all been good fun events. You get a mixed crowd and never had any negative incidents. Instructors are always on hand for those looking to improve and I would definitely recommend them. I also run with CFRA, Green Flag and NCRC.
Old 02-22-2010, 11:55 AM

Thanks, I was wondering how they treated first timers. There is a video running around from HOD at Thinderhill with a real rude instructor.

http://www.veoh.com/browse/videos/ca...772863eDyzH94y
Old 03-02-2010, 06:28 PM

That's a pretty strange video.

I'm a coach with HOD and the whole conversation almost sounds staged. The driver wasn't that far off the line, other than apexing turn one on entry, I didn't see much poor driving behavior. And frankly how smooth they shift coming out of the hot pit isn't a big deal.

I'm also curious what run group they were in. Obviously, from the angle of the sun, that was the first session of the day and in the A Group coaches drive first for two laps then switch with the car owner for the rest of the session. Group B will usually have a coach on request for the first session and they don't switch.

I was coaching that day and did not hear of any issues. We coaches do chat amongst ourselves throughout the day about how our students are doing and, again, I never heard anything like that going on.

Please don't judge the program from one subjective video. We try very hard to put on a first class event with good coaches. I guess occaisionally there may be a coach that doesn't meet our high standards so then we need to know about it. If this driver was offended by that experience I certainly hope he brought it to someones attention.