Aftermarket RIMs : Class Question.

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2003, 04:59 AM
KC

Car Info: 2003 STX Pro-Solo/Solo-II National Champion
I've been changing my wheels for 3 years on my wagon... no problems.

You'd run in STX, SM, or ESP.

STX is street tire only whereas SM and ESP are allowd DOT Race compound (as does stock.. on the stock sized rims). In the beginning tho, even in higher clases, the whole idea of auto-x is to compete for the fun of it, as long as you're legal for the class.

Some regions allow some new guys to get away with minor things for a little while and then when you start showing up more often, they expect that you start playing by the rules. Nothing wrong with that.

--kC
Old 10-27-2003, 11:34 AM
ish

Car Info: 2009 wrx & 2000 4runner
for 17" wheels with 215 tires you should still be able to run in d-stock since it is a factory option to have 17"rims. and i have seen people run in d-stock with 17s
Old 10-27-2003, 11:57 AM
KC

Car Info: 2003 STX Pro-Solo/Solo-II National Champion
Originally posted by wrx ish
for 17" wheels with 215 tires you should still be able to run in d-stock since it is a factory option to have 17"rims. and i have seen people run in d-stock with 17s
'Shoud' That's you're opinion, and I wholly agree wiht allowing 17s to run in Stock.

However, the 'rules' for SCCA state that you cannot. Dealer installed items are not legal to run in any stock class. Until someone can prove that 17s are Port-Installed, then it's an uphill battle with those that do make the rules.

Sure, you've seen people run locally with 17s. 1) They don't know better. 2) Their competitiors don't know better. 3) Their competitors don't care/are cool with it or 4) they're not at national events (which is really where the rules come into play).

This has been a battle since 2001 when the WRX hit the shores with the available BBS rims. Year 3, same arguement, same response.