Newbie & FAQ New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the I-Club group. FAQs will also be answered in here.

Looking to buy-in

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2007, 01:27 PM

Car Info: 2008 Subaru WRX 5-door
Looking to buy-in

Well hello everyone. I was referred to this club by my co-worker who drives an 04 white STI. Me and my lady [soon to be fiance] are planning on picking up a WRX in the next few weeks. I'm completely new to subaru, and turbo vehicles, however definately not new to the tuner/modding croud. We live in downtown san jose, and are thinking of buying from Capitol Subaru here in SJ, because they offer a lifetime powertrain warranty. Anyway, I just wanted to introduce myself, and also find out if anyone has suggestions on what to look for in a rex? Alissa [my lady] has vetoe'd anything blue, and it has to be manual, and less than 50k on the clock. we are trying to spend less than $20k. any advice/suggestions would be great. Thanks.
Old 09-29-2007, 01:50 PM

Car Info: 413whp/461wtq
first, Welcome!

its good youre doing your homework before you decide to purchase. here is what I looked for when I purchased my first and second subaru.

1. look for any noticable welds in the trunk or engine bay, might not be noticable if you dont look carefully. I was once looking at a bugeye that I almost bought and apperently the jackass welded two different cars together and pretended to forget to tell me about it. if the bondo was not cracking I probably would not have notice as well.

2. TEST DRIVE! make sure everything is solid. gear shifts are going to be a little notchy, subaru's do not have the greatest trans, but not to the point where is feels sluggish.