Engine Management Cobb AccessPort, EcuTek, TEC, Motec, Link, and others. The ins and outs of high-performance engine tuning.

2.5 swap for my 04 wrx?

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2010, 07:54 PM

Car Info: 2004 Hybrid WRB WRX
2.5 swap for my 04 wrx?

Right now I am waiting on a shop to diagnose my problem with my engine in my 04 wrx. If it is a bent valve, the estimated costwill be around $1500, and on gst motorsports they are selling a OEM EJ257 Short Block which is a 2.5, unlike my stock 2.0. It says it will bolt in to any us made wrx or sti 04 and above. If I end up getting the new motor, would that mean i would need a new tranny? I am pretty sure I do, but I am new to the wrx world, and I need to learn a lot more before I do anything else.
Old 05-18-2010, 07:56 PM

http://www.gstmotorsports.com/store/...roducts_id=554

This is the motor i found, which only costs 2 thousand.
Old 05-18-2010, 07:58 PM

Car Info: '02 WRX wagon
It depends on how many miles is on the tranny now, your current mods, and mods planned in the future. For anything stage2 and below, you shouldn't need a new tranny.
Even with the new EJ257 in, as long as you treat the transmission well, you should be fine.
Old 05-18-2010, 08:34 PM

Well the only reason I was worried about the 2.5 was because usaully thats a 6 speed on an sti, and I only have a 5 speed 2.0 right now, and i was wondering if I had to change the tranny to fit the six speed, but if it fits my stock wrx tranny, that would be awesome. I am just guessing, haha I probably sound stupid asking that. The only mods i have is exhaust really. I just bought the car so I am not to sure how it has been treated before but the tranny seems fine to me.
Old 05-18-2010, 08:38 PM

Car Info: 2016 WRX, 2014 lifter forester XT, 2005 JDM207 WGN
I have been running a 30r and a wrx trany for about a year with no problems, drive snark and your 5 speed can take some good power. I'm just now getting my 6 speed installed.
Old 05-18-2010, 08:41 PM