Conversions, Transplants, & Swaps Anything from the EJ20 into an RS to port-a-potties into an STi. Anything about engine and tranny swapping.

Starting with a used EJ22T

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2004, 08:02 PM

Car Info: 2002 WRX Sedan - Silver
Starting with a used EJ22T

I just purchased a used EJ22T shortblock from snowjob here. So far, everything looks good, but it had some miles on it, so I need to get it cleaned up. I plan on replacing all of the internals with Crawford Performance, pretty much building the R1 motor Quirt has on his site.

This is my first time ever playing with a block, so I'll be enlisting all the help I can from friends over here in the HIIC (hopefully ) So...here's the questions:

What do I need to do to get this thing cleaned up? Getting it dipped in an acid bath has been suggested by a non-suby friend, but I'm not familiar with the process.

Should I get the block magnafluxed (sp?) ?? From what I'm told, this block was only exposed to normal daily driving in it's original Legacy home, with no modifications.

I think that will do for now. Any help on these questions and more to come is REALLY appreciated!!
Old 09-08-2004, 08:51 PM

Car Info: 1991 Toyota MR-2 Turbo
Since you're going w/ new internals; just disassemble it and clean up the outside. Check the surfaces where the head mates up to make sure it's flat, see if the cylinders need to be honed and clean the outside surfaces w/ degreaser and a brush.
Old 09-08-2004, 09:28 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: 02WRXpseudoSTiWannabeWagon
How dirty is it?

Yeah, an acid bath would definitely be a good thing, however, it's a good idea to plug all oil journals and make sure and coat it afterwards with a good coat of motor 'something'.

Molybdenum, I guess (look here. Scroll down to "97 LEGACY - INFORMATION FOR YOU (9/96)")