student loans

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2011, 10:54 AM

Car Info: 2010 Impreza 2.5i Premium Boosted
student loans

I was talking to my mom and she told me to try and get a student loan. The problem with that is I know NOTHING about them I was hoping somebody could shed some light on me. I would like to know anything and everything you know about student loans. Where to get them, for how much, interest rates, when do I have to pay back,? I'm clueless so anything helps. Thanks guys!
Old 01-17-2011, 10:57 AM

Car Info: 2011 OBP STi
You should call your school first to see if you qualify for subsidized loans (lower interest rate).
Have you tried applying for financial aid? If you haven't, you definitely should try to because you might be able to get a majority of your tuition paid for via cal grants, etc.
Old 01-17-2011, 10:58 AM

I graduated last year. Will they still help me? And I did apply for FAFSA but I didn't qualify. Is there other financial aid I can apply for that you know of?
Old 01-17-2011, 11:01 AM

Car Info: 2011 OBP STi
Originally Posted by iDriveMyi
I graduated last year. Will they still help me? And I did apply for FAFSA but I didn't qualify. Is there other financial aid I can apply for that you know of?
Oh, are you going for your masters? As far as i know, financial aid doesn't cover master's students. Your only choice might be to apply for scholarships and to take out loans. I'm not 100% about this though because I haven't looked into it, I've only heard about it through friends that are going after their MBA.
Old 01-17-2011, 11:03 AM

Car Info: 2005 STi
First and foremost you should fill out a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA - found here). After you do that, you may qualify for a grant from the government to help with some of your expenses.