State Reffed in NorCal

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2016, 11:24 PM

Car Info: 08 Forester XT 5mt
State Reffed in NorCal

I got a state referee ticket for modified exhaust. I was driving like a gentleman, but my car is a little on the loud side, and the LEO had a huge chip on his shoulder ... pretty much expected to get state reffed by him the moment he popped my hood. Issues are marked as non-correctable. I've been driving the car like this for well over two years with no issues, so i was quite surprised by this (although, it only gets driven once a week) but ... you play with fire, you get burned.

If this was a simple stage 2 setup I could probably just restore the stock exhaust and be cool but: this build is way past stage 2 with lots of mods deep in the engine bay and throughout. Restoring the car to any condition that would pass state ref would take tons of time, work and money. I have a pretty intense job, not a lot of free time, and don't have a garage where I can wrench at the moment.

So I'm in a bit of a pickle BUT: I don't necessarily want to keep the car. I've actually been planning on getting rid of it - I'm hoping I can sell it to a buyer in a state where it will not be a problem. Otherwise: I am up for renewal of my registrtation so I can possibly register it as non-op in the meantime?

As I understand it, it should be around a $1500 fine. If that is the case, I can pay the fine (onerous as it is).

But at that point: I still can't drive or sell the car in CA without passing the ref. What i'm wondering is whether or not I can do any of the following:

Sell the car to an out-of-state buyer? This would be best financially, and of course: the car would live on —which would be nice since it is a meticulously well-kept and quite-rare Aspen-White 2008 Manual Transmission Forester XT.

Sell the car to a buyer who does not plan to drive it on the street? (motorsports - this seems like it would be tough to come by for an FXT).