sell the car without the title in my hands. help?

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2012, 01:24 PM

Car Info: 2010 FXT - 2016 crosstek - 1996 impreza outback
sell the car without the title in my hands. help?

Been looking online and cant find my awnser. Im trying to sell the subi, still owe the bank some money. Im going to have to take the buyers money and send it off before i get the title. Can i write up a doc that states i have sold the car to this person and all responsability is on them, get signed, let them take the car, then give them the title a couple days later? im new at this and really have no idea. would hate if the crash and it comes back on me //thanks
Old 10-10-2012, 01:28 PM
Technical Know-It-All

Car Info: '02 WRX + '15 WRX
Call the DMV.
Old 10-10-2012, 01:29 PM

Car Info: Miata and dirtbikes
Get a liability form and bill of sale from the dmv website
Old 10-10-2012, 01:45 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: .
as far as the lien holder, you should call your bank and ask them the appropriate steps to take.

as for selling a car with no title, i just did this a month ago with no title. it's not a big deal at all so don't worry about it.

5 things you need to do:
reg form 227
reg form 262
smog cert
bill of sale (don't REALLY need this, but it's nice to do it)
notice of transfer and release of liability
make copies of all the paperwork!!!!!!!!!!! give them the original forms that you guys fill out, since THEY take that stuff to the dmv. but keep copies for your own files.

Please see "How to Change Vehicle Ownership" on dmv website How to Change Vehicle Ownership

TRANSFER OF TITLE
Transfer of Title and request duplicate (REG 227) on dmv website which releases you as the owner and transfers a new ownership title in their name which they will get a new title in their name in the mail from DMV. this is the same thing that is on the BACK on the title "pink slip" that everybody is used to seeing.