Go Back  i-Club > Regional Forums > Bay Area
The Official: All Things Phone Thread >

The Official: All Things Phone Thread

Notices

The Official: All Things Phone Thread

Old 07-27-2012, 04:03 AM
  #511  
03.23.67 - 06.14.13
iTrader: (3)
 
ldivinag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N37 39* W122 3*
Posts: 8,496
for you S3 users:

Coolest feature you've found? - Page 5 - Android Forums

check out that whole thread also...
ldivinag is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 04:04 AM
  #512  
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
theoutbackdream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: gone hunting, be back maybe
Posts: 3,835
Car Info: 12Teens crazy 4 me
Originally Posted by stupidchicken03 View Post
XDA is my #1... then google haha
awesome thanks, im making an account soon
theoutbackdream is offline  
Old 07-28-2012, 04:36 PM
  #513  
Registered User
iTrader: (27)
 
East Bay STI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Castro Valley or Puerto Vallarta
Posts: 2,273
Car Info: 1997 Honda Civic DX - Manual Everything Sans A/C!
Finally caved in and got the S3, look forward to having a phone that is smarter than me
East Bay STI is offline  
Old 07-28-2012, 11:21 PM
  #514  
Churro Aficionado
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
stupidchicken03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IG - @thomas.teammoist
Posts: 54,294
Car Info: IG - @TEAMMOISTOFFICIAL
Nice Gio
stupidchicken03 is offline  
Old 07-30-2012, 08:41 PM
  #515  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bay Area , CA
Posts: 228
Car Info: 2012 WRX
Getting 45MBs in Alameda Verizon 4G LTE. Crazy
Dova is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 01:19 AM
  #516  
03.23.67 - 06.14.13
iTrader: (3)
 
ldivinag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N37 39* W122 3*
Posts: 8,496
Originally Posted by Dova View Post
Getting 45MBs in Alameda Verizon 4G LTE. Crazy
what i'm finding is LTE is so finicky.

i mean when i was at the ATT store in UC, the LTE speeds was like 20-30+Mbps...

then i walk out of the store. drive like to the UC CENT theaters, the speeds there drop like crazy...

oh well. i guess that is better than 3G...
ldivinag is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 01:23 AM
  #517  
Registered User
 
DirtNasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: west sac
Posts: 16
Car Info: bugeyes
Personally I think the LG G2X is one of the strongest phones with a Duo Core and Nvidia Tegra, I owned one for about 6months ran MaxPayne/GTA3/NOVA3 etc... very smoothly unfortunately I sold it 2 days ago and just bought a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 still runs games like a charm (-:
DirtNasty is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 07:43 AM
  #518  
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (14)
 
GST Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 3,246
Car Info: WRX, EVO, MSP3
I average about 20mb down right now which is good enough for me!
GST Motorsports is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 10:06 AM
  #519  
Churro Aficionado
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
stupidchicken03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IG - @thomas.teammoist
Posts: 54,294
Car Info: IG - @TEAMMOISTOFFICIAL
Originally Posted by ldivinag View Post
what i'm finding is LTE is so finicky.

i mean when i was at the ATT store in UC, the LTE speeds was like 20-30+Mbps...

then i walk out of the store. drive like to the UC CENT theaters, the speeds there drop like crazy...

oh well. i guess that is better than 3G...
It just depends on the coverage area.. I just moved 3 miles away from my old place and the coverage for 4g is pretty slim at the moment

And ive done speed tests within minutes of each other and have seen a difference of 10-15 MBps. Just depends on how many are using that bandwidth at the given time
stupidchicken03 is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 10:20 PM
  #520  
Churro Aficionado
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
stupidchicken03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IG - @thomas.teammoist
Posts: 54,294
Car Info: IG - @TEAMMOISTOFFICIAL
Billing cycle ends tonight at midnight... guess ive used enough




Attached Thumbnails The Official: All Things Phone Thread-julydata.jpg  
Attached Images  
stupidchicken03 is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 10:21 PM
  #521  
Registered User
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California
Posts: 6,558
Car Info: Blown Transmissions
Originally Posted by ldivinag View Post
what i'm finding is LTE is so finicky.

i mean when i was at the ATT store in UC, the LTE speeds was like 20-30+Mbps...

then i walk out of the store. drive like to the UC CENT theaters, the speeds there drop like crazy...

oh well. i guess that is better than 3G...
They have antennas in the stores

Any corporate location will have antennas in their stores to make their service seem great.
lanz0r is offline  
Old 08-02-2012, 03:14 AM
  #522  
03.23.67 - 06.14.13
iTrader: (3)
 
ldivinag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N37 39* W122 3*
Posts: 8,496
Talking

Originally Posted by lanz0r View Post
They have antennas in the stores

Any corporate location will have antennas in their stores to make their service seem great.
BASTARDS!!!!!

lol...

that's what i figured...
ldivinag is offline  
Old 08-02-2012, 03:19 AM
  #523  
03.23.67 - 06.14.13
iTrader: (3)
 
ldivinag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N37 39* W122 3*
Posts: 8,496
slighty weird thing...

on the lockscreen of my S3, if i turn on the weather setting (SETTING -> SECURITY -> LOCK SCREEN OPTIONS -> WEATHER -> ON|OFF), it shows union city.

i'm in fremont.

i went and CLEARED data/cache/defaults from the WEATHER APP, WEATHER MAIN and even the WEATHER DAEMON.

but with i see the WEATHER widget with a blank screen and it says "LOCATING" it goes back and finds UNION CITY.

i live in ardenwood which is close to the border... well not that close, but i think something is wacky with the WEATHER database.

anyone else showing the right city (it should say default city in the WEATHER app) for your S3?
ldivinag is offline  
Old 08-02-2012, 03:46 AM
  #524  
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
theoutbackdream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: gone hunting, be back maybe
Posts: 3,835
Car Info: 12Teens crazy 4 me
Originally Posted by stupidchicken03 View Post
Billing cycle ends tonight at midnight... guess ive used enough






How do you use that much Data?!?!?! Geeez man!
theoutbackdream is offline  
Old 08-02-2012, 03:50 AM
  #525  
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
theoutbackdream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: gone hunting, be back maybe
Posts: 3,835
Car Info: 12Teens crazy 4 me
Originally Posted by ldivinag View Post
anyone else showing the right city (it should say default city in the WEATHER app) for your S3?
Not the S3, but when I had my HTC, I had this same issue. After having the same question as you, I read on google that the data they show is your nearest weather checker (where they have the temp guage, barometer, etc.). So maybe you may be inbetween 2 weather checking stations.


Although someone with better knowledge may know better. Im still a phone noob
theoutbackdream is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: The Official: All Things Phone Thread


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.