To do my cluch or not to do?

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2013, 09:47 PM

Car Info: A boxy old brick
To do my cluch or not to do?

Hello all, I have a 98 forester it needs a new clutch I am debating on weather do to it or not. I am a complete noob when it comes to clutches I have never done that but have done a whole bunch of other stuff. I would love to learn how to do it and get some help maybe in the next week or so. Or should I pay the $500 labor and have someone do it?

Thanks,

Ikearu
Old 12-04-2013, 10:15 PM

Car Info: 2011 Sti SWP
Took me about 8 hours to do mine

Sucks without a lift

You will need a few helping hands and patience
Old 12-05-2013, 08:47 AM
If in doubt, FLAT OUT

Car Info: 2010 Hatch, 2011 Sedan
I did mine myself also on my old Civic having never done one either. Also took me close to 7-8 hours with no lift. Also did the trans on a B2200. Not really interested in doing one myself again lol.
Old 12-05-2013, 09:32 AM

Car Info: 2002 Impreza RS, 2005 Impreza RS-20K
Originally Posted by 91vtec
Took me about 8 hours to do mine

Sucks without a lift

You will need a few helping hands and patience
+1. takes me roughly 2 hours to drop tranny. Some suggest pull engine, some remove tranny. for clutch , i remove tranny. prepping the tranny for drop isnt the hard part, its removing that beast and reinstalling it, aligning dowels and studs with engine bell housing. the replacement itself is easy with some help, tools (jack), and patience. rush your job, youll misalign plates in clutch, or youll nudge your tranny off jack and have it fall on your arm, meanwhile spilling all its gearoil on your body...ask me how i know :/. and guess who now straps that ***** down before lowering it! LOL

Last edited by 02RS25; 12-05-2013 at 09:35 AM.
Old 12-05-2013, 09:49 AM

Car Info: 04 wagon