Credit Card fraud getting crazy!

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2009, 06:42 PM

Car Info: 2007 WRX CGM
Credit Card fraud getting crazy!

I have a Citi Mastercard I use exclusively to buy school books and I ONLY use paypal and amazon when purchasing. Somehow, I get fraudulent charges on the card.. the card gets frozen.

Fast forward today: I just received the new card today and call to activate it. As I'm activating, the rep tells me that I already have charges on the NEW card. !!!??? That does not make sense at all. The card has not been activated but there are charges already on it from previous days and TODAY. I ask to speak with an on site manager and even she was stumped.

Does anyone have a clue what the hell is going on?

They're sending me a new card and I tried to get some perks out of this whole fiasco but no dice. All I got was another month to pay off my card which I rightfully should get.

Anyone else have similar stories, experiences, etc?
Old 02-27-2009, 07:34 PM
Hurray, it's Ian!!

Car Info: 2002 MBP WRX Sedan
in November, I got a call from Washington Mutual saying my Mastercard was locked and they needed to confirm some purchases I made. I hadn't been using that card at all for a while since I was trying to pay it down. Purchases like netflix, blockbuster online, macy's, nordstroms, etc were made in a 2-3 day span. I told them the last time I used the card was in August at a 7-11. they nullified all charges made after that date, locked the card, and sent me a new card with a new card #.