Anyone in the medical field?????

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2011, 11:45 AM
General Pimpin'

Car Info: MY04 aspen wrx wagon.
Anyone in the medical field?????

Hey folks.

I'm a graphic designer by trade but I'm undergoing some medical training as a possible complete career change or at least a part time career change so I can design what I want.... not what I have to.

So, I'm looking for input from anyone that's out there on what you're doing, how you like it, pay, hours, job availability... etc.

I finished my certified medical assistant program. I gave my doctor all my paper work today to get everything signed off. Then I have to find an externship (if any of you have doctors for friends or family please talk to them for me. Externships are IMPOSSIBLE for me to find out here because 1. I don't speak spanish. A must in Watsonville, Salinas... everywhere over here. 2. Cabrillo has Santa Cruz county on lock down.)

Soon as I'm done with that I take the cert. test and I'm done.

I've been looking in to what direction I want to go and I just can't make up my mind... and I have to. Now.

I've been going between 3 things for YEARS. Paramedic. Trauma/ER Nursing. Rad Tech.

I figure the CMA is a decent first step for all of those but I really don't have much desire to be a medical assistant if I don't have to. At least not full time.
I'm leaning toward Paramedic right now because I can bridge to nursing later. Rad Tech is cool too but I think I might get bored.

I saw a guy get hit on the freeway a couple weeks ago and my heart rate didn't even go up. I was calmer than both of the CHP's that I beat to the scene. One dude was tripping. I could see his hands shaking. I've personally helped at a couple fatal and near fatal accidents. I talked to a woman that was dying right in front of me literally twisted in two. I like to help people.

so... help me find an externship and talk to me about what you're doing!