i-Club - The Ultimate Subaru Resource

i-Club - The Ultimate Subaru Resource (https://www.i-club.com/forums/)
-   Suby Shopping & Maintenance/Warranty (https://www.i-club.com/forums/suby-shopping-maintenance-warranty-92/)
-   -   My new WRX buying experience. (https://www.i-club.com/forums/suby-shopping-maintenance-warranty-92/my-new-wrx-buying-experience-36352/)

Bagelw 10-29-2003 12:27 PM

My new WRX buying experience.

I just bought a 2004 WRX wagon this past weekend and thought I would share my experience in dealing with the dealers.

I've been shopping around for a WRX for the past three months. I'd figured out that I wanted a silver wagon but I would take a sedan if I found one with a good price. So I began searching any dealership's inventory from subaru.com within 5 hours from me. Where I live, major cities such as Little Rock, Tulsa, Dallas/Ft Worth, St. Louis, Kansas City, and Oklahoma City including any other smaller cities were included in my search.

I first searched for only 2003 models since the discounts and interest rates were so low. I considered buying used but the cheapest used 2003 I had seen was $19,000 and was 17 hours from me. So I figured with only a $2500 to $3000 price difference and lower interest rates on new vs. used, I might as well buy new. The only 2003 silver models I could find at the dealers were 2 sedans in St Louis and 1 sedan in Fayetteville, Arkansas(my home town). I couldn't find any wagons. So naturally I headed over to my local Suby dealer to see what they could do for me. But before heading over there I emailed Deanteam and Lousz Fusz(I think that's how you spell it)Subarus in St Louis. They both quoted me around $22,200 which I thought was a fair price. Deanteam Subaru even offered me $600 below invoice on a 2004 model.