i-Club - The Ultimate Subaru Resource

i-Club - The Ultimate Subaru Resource (https://www.i-club.com/forums/)
-   Hawaii (https://www.i-club.com/forums/hawaii-43/)
-   -   Why does anyone throw away hp with a blow off valve? (https://www.i-club.com/forums/hawaii-43/why-does-anyone-throw-away-hp-blow-off-valve-72532/)

keirnna 09-12-2004 01:08 AM

Why does anyone throw away hp with a blow off valve?

I just don't understand why anyone would put a blow off valve on their STi, or WRX if it still has the stock turbo. I will admit the following things: it sounds cool, retards think that it makes your car fast, or faster, and that some girls just love them. I still don't understand it though becuase from what I understand you loose HP when you put one on. Just wanted to see what everyone has to say. My friend and I have been discussing this all week and I want some more opinions.

Nathan

islandx 09-12-2004 01:14 AM

I dunno, it's the ricer in me. I've been running one since 4 months after getting my car. I don't think many people would consider my car slow.

keirnna 09-12-2004 01:20 AM

Right, but it does make your car slower than it could be right?

islandx 09-12-2004 01:23 AM

Possibly, but the nice pshaa sounds far outweigh the miniscule loss (if any) of power. Seriously I experience no lag after shifts whatsoever.

oldmansan 09-12-2004 01:27 AM

I have

an aftermarket BOV (APS), but only because I have a FMIC. Never "heard" it much with the stock turbo. PnP VF34 now (Stage 4) and I hear it on a regular basis. I agree that most that replace the BOV are looking for the "sound".

San

Imprezer 09-12-2004 01:32 AM

Why don't you explain to us all why putting the BOV makes your car loose hp...

luktang 09-12-2004 01:53 AM