i-Club - The Ultimate Subaru Resource

i-Club - The Ultimate Subaru Resource (https://www.i-club.com/forums/)
-   Engine/Power - EJ25T (STI and 2006+ WRX) (https://www.i-club.com/forums/engine-power-ej25t-sti-2006-wrx-90/)
-   -   clunking coming from the front end (https://www.i-club.com/forums/engine-power-ej25t-sti-2006-wrx-90/clunking-coming-front-end-234568/)

151sti 09-02-2011 04:59 PM

clunking coming from the front end

hey guys, i have a 2006 sti i just bought a few days ago (my first subaru). when im turning out of a parking space or slow speed tight cornering slightly accelerating, it makes a clunking sound and almost feels like the diffs are locking up? is this normal? anything else to be concerned about? im new to the subaru world please help!!

ej20_wagn 09-02-2011 06:03 PM

Maybe cv axle? Had some what of a similar noise while turning a while ago on my wagon

FW Motorsports 09-02-2011 09:03 PM

Check your tire sizes...the circumference of all the tires need to be the same.
Or your center diff is ****ed up.

151sti 09-02-2011 09:37 PM

my front 2 tires are almost smoked and my rear have some life left, should i just replace all of them and start new? could that be a factor?

meilers 09-02-2011 11:27 PM

[QUOTE=151sti;3127284]hey guys, i have a 2006 sti i just bought a few days ago (my first subaru). when im turning out of a parking space or slow speed tight cornering slightly accelerating, it makes a clunking sound and almost feels like the diffs are locking up? is this normal? anything else to be concerned about? im new to the subaru world please help!![/QUOTE]

Bushing in one of your front control arms. You have to replace the whole arm, the bushing gets destroyed if you try to press it out.

PSBeachBum 09-03-2011 02:21 AM