Andy's Autosport is refusing to pay employees their comission! Advice needed :(

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2013, 06:29 PM

Car Info: 2011 WRX Sedan
Andy's Autosport is refusing to pay employees their comission! Advice needed :(

SO! Some of you know I am a sales associate at Andy's Autosport...blah blah blah

It is a truly miserable place to work but I make really good money and its flexible with my school hours, and 3 miles from my house so it works out well...somewhat

Long story short.

I work in sales, answering phone calls from the 800 number. I get a $2 bonus for every time I take an order over the phone and (1) charge them full price listed on the website (no discounts) and (2) charge them full recommended shipping (from our shipping chart). If the salesmen do this for each order they get a $2 bonus at the end of the month for each order.

So cool worked out well, I made a few hundred extra for the month of June. July comes along and all is well I am expecting a few hundred more dollars on my bonus check on next Friday.

BUT NO! Today we had our monthly meeting with the manager (individual meetings to discuss monthly performance) and the manager tells us all "we are no longer doing the $2 bonus for the month of August, and we are not going to pay you for your $2 bonus in July because we didn't keep track of it correctly"...blah blah blah.

HOW IS THIS FAIR? OR LEGAL?! What can I do?

I am thinking I will add up all of my $2 transactions and present them with an invoice in a few days and if its not paid then I will submit a claim with the labor board of California (as suggested by whoever answered the phone when I called during lunch today).

What do y'all think? (Especially you older people who have seen/done all this before...)

Cliff notes: Management promised us bonus at end of month. Refuses to pay us for bonus after work has been completed. What do I do?

Thank you
Old 08-01-2013, 06:37 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: Slowly