Subaru OEM Parts For Sale Subaru OEM new and used car parts can be listed here only!

Hi I'm new. Ready for a sob story about caveat emptor clause?

Old 02-25-2017, 04:22 PM

Car Info: MY00 SRP 2.5rs Coupe
Hi I'm new. Ready for a sob story about caveat emptor clause?

Before we get started: I understand that I agreed to pay and in no way feel entitled to anything. This is just an introduction.

I have always wanted an impreza coupe. Since I could drive, I wanted one. They were brand new when I was in HS and out of my price range. So my car life went elsewhere (rotary btw). I am a licensed driving instructor and my boss gave me the option to use my own car for lesson and for elaborate reasons I really felt this was a good option for me. I was torn between an IS300, 2.5rs or 3 series E36. All similarly priced. Ultimately the AWD was the deal-breaker for me. Better for new drivers.

Some dude was flipping an SRP in the 831 (car originally came from the Midwest) and I thought that buying a cheaper one (still overpriced) and using the extra money to replace/upgrade parts as they broke was reasonable. *RECORD SCRATCH* yeah, red flag number one...**** RUST!!!!!! Sorry for cursing.

Spent a lot of money replacing parts over the next three years and even though it was rough, the little subie took it like a warrior. Last February it developed a head gasket leak...and I stopped driving it.

Took it to Garage One and was told $2800 for the HG job and 1 week. Seemed ridiculously high...so I looked around for options. USDM turbo swap was too much money...ultimately I decided to get a rebuilt engine from a shop in Roseville, CA. Subaru Source. Rebuilt longblock for $2800...seemed like a whole engine vs HG job was a better deal.

I had a mechanic do the install for another $1000.