Engine/Power - EJ25T (STI and 2006+ WRX) Discussions about the USDM 2006+ WRX and WRX STi 2.5 liter turbo flat-four.

Cobb Tuning's initial test data and driving impressions for the 2006 Subaru WRX MT…

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2005, 04:25 PM

Cobb Tuning's initial test data and driving impressions for the 2006 Subaru WRX MT…

This post it intended to keep the concerned parties informed of some of our initial test results and to give you my driving impressions of the 2006 WRX MT. Take into account that I am not a professional car reviewer. I have not had sufficient time to review any other aspects of the vehicle other than the motor and how it has been tuned. So I will not be able to review or show pictures of the interior, exterior, suspension, etc. PLEASE TAKE INTO ACCOUNT that our dyno is different than other dynos, so comparing our test results to other companies’ 2006 WRX MT test results will not do much good.

I wanted to show you some data that we have recorded on the 2006 Subaru WRX MT. This motor in this vehicle has been compared to the Forester XT so I wanted to first show you the power difference we recorded between the two:

You can see the WRX is making more power across the RPM range which could suggest a different combination of motor hardware, i.e. turbo, heads, cams, static motor compression, etc. or a more aggressive tune. My guess is that the turbo is slightly larger than the one on the Forester XT. Although, this is just a guess…we have not had sufficient time to remove, measure, and compare those parts to verify our guesses. Please don’t get on my case if I am wrong, just giving you my perspective. I believe this to be so because the boost targets are similar for both vehicles, although the WRX makes more power across the entire RPM range and appears to have the ability to hold boost easier at higher RPM.