Ongoing Projects Want to share your ongoing Subaru project with the rest of Subaru Community? Tell us what you did, how you did it and what else are you going to do.

GF Impreza Baja California Racecar Project

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2015, 11:06 PM

Car Info: 2000 Impreza Outback Sport
GF Impreza Baja California Racecar Project

Last summer I drove my dad's Nissan Armada from Atlanta to California and back. I did a lot of camping and offroading along the way. Having only owned a Miata and done track stuff before, I haven't really done much driving involving anything other than pavement. I recently bought a 2000 Impreza OBS with 180k miles on it with hopes of building something a little different and, if possible, go back to California next summer (2016).

I'm a college student at Georgia Tech on a moderately tight budget so this build can't get out-of-control expensive. It's also probably going to become my daily driver so it's gotta be pretty reliable as well. I've been planning for about three months and have a pretty good idea of what I want to build. I'm planning to use Legacy and Forester parts to get a 2" lift (3" over stock Impreza). For baja racing I need to have as much compression as I can, but I don't want it to drive like a truck or a boat. I need adequate ground clearance as well for rocks and stuff. I want to fit some pretty grippy tyres too, so I'll have to do some cutting I'm sure.

I've been designing a tube steel front bumper/light bar and a roll cage. I'm going to try to maximize interior space and comfort while retaining a sturdy, functional cage. I'd like to design a rear tyre mount and bumper as well. I've got a lot of other interesting interior mods/ideas I'm planning too.

I eventually would like to swap for an EJ25 turbo, but I'm not sure if that's going to happend any time soon. The EJ22 I've got is in really good condition for its mileage as well.