AVCS/Timing issue help

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2014, 03:10 PM

Car Info: 2000 Impreza 2.5RS JDM V7 swap
AVCS/Timing issue help

I'm somewhat new to the island and in need of some help with troubleshooting, rather than going the route of just throwing money and parts until it's figured out. I read through some of the earlier threads under the HI region and saw a few of you could possibly give some input/assistance.

I have a GC8 JDM V7 swap. EJ207 heads w/AVCS, VF30 turbo, 3" catless Invidia downpipe, 550CC injectors, upgraded fuel pump, JDM Forrester ECU and still kept the 2.5 bottom end (rebuilt). It was originally tuned with a 4.111 drive train, then destroyed the transmission the day after I got it tuned. Didn't launch, just took off in first gear and punched it after a normal start. Then I ended up switching to a 04 USDM WRX drivetrain 3.900. It was open road tuned in Washington state last fall.

I've been driving it for a couple months since then without any problems. Now it just seems like the timing is way off. It'll hesitate and feel like it's not firing correctly, then suddenly be back in time and then back to off cycle again. I haven't gotten a single code yet. I also pulled the top banjo bolt on the driver side head to check for a filter (after reading/watching other research on how the blow out or clog) and there wasn't a filter in it. Also, it sounds like the fuel pump is moving more gas than it should. I'm burning way more gas and getting a lot ****tier mileage than I should be.

Is there anyone who can hook up to my ECU and check things out or any place/person I can take it to, to get it checked out? Thanks guys.
Old 08-20-2014, 05:36 PM

Car Info: 1995 dodge neon