General Tech / How To's / Installations Technical discussions about the USDM 2008+ WRX and WRX STi.

Cobb stage 1/ stage 2? To cobb or not to cobb?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2012, 07:51 AM

Car Info: 2006 subaru impreza WRX
Cobb stage 1/ stage 2? To cobb or not to cobb?

So, I'm pretty new to the WRX and turbo society. A Newb. I'm mechanically inclined enough to do my own mod installs for the most part. But I've never tuned a car before. Sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong section.

I understand the concept of tuning. But I was curious what the difference between stage 1 and stage 2 tuning is? I hear it a lot and I'm sure it's a Newb type question to ask.

Right now I'v got a 06 WRX pretty much stock. I'v got plenty of ideas for what I want to do. But to start off I plan on doing intake, piping, exhaust and tune. Iv already got a COBB cat back and plan on doing Cobb for downpipe and probably up pipe and a K&N typhoon short ram intake. Im planning on doing COBB accessport for the tune as well. Just trying to learn more about it and anything els WRX.

Any tips or words of wisdom would greatly be appreciated!
Old 10-12-2012, 04:44 PM

Bump? Haha. Don't know what it means but I see everyone els going it!
Old 10-12-2012, 04:55 PM

Car Info: 07lmtd 6spd wrx eq tuned
Well since you have an 06 the up-pipe is catless already so no need for that unless you really want it. I did mine when I went with header-back exhaust. As far as AP maps, a down pipe and cat back and flash your accesport to stage2 and you'd have plenty of power. The 2.5 response really well to stg2. Now if you want to do your own custom tuning I'll will say good luck to you on that, I'd personally left my tuning to Ed, but there are plenty of knowledgable tuners here. Good luck
Old 10-12-2012, 05:08 PM

Car Info: WRB 2012 WRX Sedan
I'm running Cobb AP stage 1 map on my 2012 WRX. Tuning with EQ like JAV, it's the best way to get the most out of your mods... Good luck!!
Old 10-12-2012, 05:23 PM