Conversions, Transplants, & Swaps Anything from the EJ20 into an RS to port-a-potties into an STi. Anything about engine and tranny swapping.

jdm version 5 sti swap desired ;)

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2012, 12:00 PM

Car Info: Impreza 2.5rs, 1999
jdm version 5 sti swap desired ;)

Hey all,
First just wanted to say I'm new to all this forum wildness, but figured if I want answers to the questions I have (as some employees aren't always the best of most helpful) truly addressed by experienced people this was the place to do it.

First, I have owned a 1999 2.5rs since the day I could drive, learned on it, love driving it everyday to this day! Upon purchasing it now ages ago I wanted to turbo it immediately as I have always wanted that amazing turbo love and affection to be created but sadly had to put off my dreams as I realized this is indeed pretty expensive!

So, skip 6 or so years, here I am ready to graduate college, trying to make my dreams of being an on the side race car champion come true, and my way of doing that to me, wouldn't be right if I didn't at least give it a shot with my one and only! Subiee all day!

The desired build:

jdm sti version 5 motor and transmission
whatever else is needed for this, and a moderate goal of 300-350 awhp
I want this to be bullet-proof able to take a beating when it needs it, probably more often than not, and still have amazing street drive-ability and reliability. With this post/thread whatever you guys call it, I just want the knowledge anyone should know about doing this ie: who's the best, who's got the best, what makes things work and not work, what actually has to be done to make this happen!

My questions to start are:
Where is the best place to get a motor, I want actual advice from people who've done it please, as they are to me very trust worthy!