good mechanic for inspection?

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2016, 09:12 PM

Car Info: '06 OBS Special Edition
good mechanic for inspection?

Hey, I'm a newb from the bay area and going to be getting a used impreza pretty soon. I've always been a fan of Subarus and my Golf is about to blow up. Had some questions and I know this forum is for mostly wrx/sti, but I'm looking at getting a hawkeye outback sport if I can and the bay area community seems stronger here than on naioc. Love that body style and don't have money for modding, so I just want a practical wagon for cruising and surviving the winters of Colorado when I move there next year.

I am going to be checking out a car this week in San Jose and wanted to know a good place to take it to get checked out. What kind of things should I look at when it comes to this model? From some research it looks like timing belt/water pump and the head gasket. If i'm looking at a car in the 100-120k mile range, should I expect the gasket to be ready to go pretty soon? How much does that cost around here?

Last edited by OldGregg; 08-23-2016 at 09:35 PM.
Old 08-24-2016, 09:27 AM
If in doubt, FLAT OUT

Car Info: 2010 Hatch, 2011 Sedan
Timing belt is due at 105K so it should have been done already. Head gasket would have already happened if it was a problem one and been fixed, IMO, so ask. If not, it is a potential concern. Also look for valve cover gaskets leaking, common around 100K. Plus normal stuff for any car with that kind of mileage - steering rack leaks, CV boots, hose condition, etc...

Mann Engineering is in Santa Clara and can do an inspection. I think last time I had him do it, it was $80 or $100.
Old 08-24-2016, 10:13 AM

Car Info: 9-2X AERO
Im new to subarus too but here are some subaru specific things that I checked when purchasing my car (in addition to the above post):

-All 4 tires matching brand/model (unmatching suggests PO unaware about the possibility of increased differental wear)